This museum on groundbreaking Japanese painter Tomioka Tessai (1836-1924) is located within a picturesque Buddhist temple. Tessai was one of the first painters of the Nihonga movement of the mid-1800s. Nihonga was a reaction against the influx of Western artistic techniques of the time and featured a fusion of techniques from ancient Japanese and Chinese paintings.
The collection holds over a thousand of Tessai’s works. Exhibitions from the temple collection are held several times a year to show his masterpieces to the public.
All images in this post are all rights reserved by Kiyoshikojin Seicho-ji Temple.
Hours: 10:00 – 16:00
Closed on Mondays, during exhibit reinstallation, summer holidays, and winter holidays
Address: Inside of Kiyoshikojin Seichoji Temple,
1 Aza Kiyoshi, Maitani, Takarazuka City, Hyogo 665-0837
Website: http://www.kiyoshikojin.or.jp/en/ (English)
How To Get There
Hankyu Line Kiyoshikojin Station: Walk 15 minutes north.
JR or Hankyu Line Takarazuka Station: 10 minutes by taxi.